Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2016 for International Students



Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support candidates to study Master’s degree courses that are either offered in partnership with universities in developing countries, or delivered directly by UK institutions.

You can apply for a 2016 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship for the following Master’s courses. For full details of these courses and the application process, you should contact the relevant institution.

Cardiff University

MSc Palliative Medicine and Care  (available to citizens of Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka only)

Bangor University

MSc Tropical Forestry

Open University

MSc Environmental Management (available to citizens of Kenya only)
MA Online and Distance Education

Queen Mary, University of London

MSc Burn Care
MSc Endocrinology and Diabetes
MSc Gastroenterology
MSc Orthopaedic Trauma Science
MSc Trauma Sciences

Royal Veterinary College

MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (available to citizens of India and Sri Lanka only)

SOAS, University of London

MSc Public Financial Management (available to citizens of Malawi and Tanzania only)

UCL Institute of Education

MA Education and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
MA Education, Gender and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)

University of Birmingham

MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)

University of Edinburgh

MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
MSc Clinical Education
MVetSci Conservation Medicine
MSc Family Medicine
MSc Global Challenges
MSc Global eHealth
MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
MSc International Animal Health
MSc One Health
MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
MPH Public Health

University of Leicester

MSc Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management

University of Liverpool

MPH Public Health

University of Oxford

MSt International Human Rights Law

University of Southampton

MSc Global Ageing and Policy
MSc Gerontology

University of Stirling

MSc Dementia Studies (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka only)

University of Strathclyde

MSc Finance (available to applicants from Kenya, Malawi, and Tanzania only)
MSc Hydrogeology (available to applicants from Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe only)

University of St Andrews

MSc in Sustainable Aquaculture

University of York

MA Public Policy and Management


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

Be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases

Terms and conditions

For full terms and conditions, see the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2016 prospectus
How to apply

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Click here for full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides.

Before applying, you must check with your UK university for their specific advice and rules for applying. You will be required to complete a university application form in addition to your EAS application form.

All applications must be submitted by 23:59 (BST) on 3 May 2016.